Fabric Nirvana

Do you ever have one of those days where everything just falls into place?
I’m talking about shopping for fabric, of course. They say the first step is admitting you have a problem … well, I do and I like it!

Today I took a trip to Dallas. I decided to try a new shop – Golden D’Or Fabric Outlet. It is located on Harry Hines, which is … um …. often of ill repute? Needless to say, I didn’t get my hopes up as I pulled into the neighborhood. I’m pleased to say I was wrong.

You have to go through a little Singer repair shop to get to this warehouse-sized gem. My mind was blown, people. I walked the whole place just feeling the fabric for a while.

In the very back they have a large clearance room big enough to be its own store, where I found this:

20120627-212136.jpg
I think it’s silk organza, but whatever it is, it was two bucks a yard and will work great for interlining. This, incidentally, was one of the purposes of my trip in the first place.

I was also on a mission to find fabric for the Colette Hazel my mom requested. She likes purple and polka dots.

20120627-212446.jpg
Bam! I was two for two on my missions. I had to stop myself from buying anything else, because I still had another stop to make: CityCraft!

I just happened to be in the neighborhood (read: five miles away) so I decided to check out their summer sale. Holy cannoli, the deals were so good I kind of feel like I ripped them off. I’m not sorry one bit. Here’s what I picked up:

20120627-212821.jpg
Moda layer cake!

20120627-212859.jpg
Colette Macaron pattern (I can’t get enough Colette!)

20120627-213004.jpg
More from the Washi collection

20120627-213105.jpg
Amy Butler fabric from the Lark collection!

20120627-213153.jpg
Border-print fabric from the Monsterz line!

20120627-213251.jpg
Here’s the other side of the border-print: paper airplanes!

20120627-213338.jpg
Another Monsterz fabric that coordinates with the border-print! I may make a dress using the two.

I payed thirty bucks for miles of organza and the purple polka dots, and my CityCraft trip was about half off! I’m so excited to match these fabrics with projects.

I have some of my fabrics set aside for “rewards” to myself – for example, I lost ten pounds so I get to cut into some Amy Butler this week.

Do you shop pattern first, then find a fabric that fits, or do you buy fabric that inspires you then find a pattern to show it off? I do a little of each.

All in all, I’m in a very zen fabric place right now.

Happy sewing,
Skylar

About skylarchastain

I am a fifth grade math and science teacher. In my spare time I love to sew and create my own patterns. I'm trying to branch out into tutorials as well. I live in Texas with my husband Eric and our kitties.
This entry was posted in Sewing Tips and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Fabric Nirvana

  1. Corinne says:

    Love the purple with polka dots!

  2. Lou's Labors says:

    Looks like a great haul! Congrats 🙂

  3. sewbusylizzy says:

    I love that polka dot and the blue fabric is divine! Are you doing the Sew Colette 2.0 Macaron Sewalong? I mail ordered that pattern two days ago!

    • I’m debating over whether to do the Macaron sew-along; I may do it closer to the start of the school year because I need sleeves for work. The muslin is always crazy labor-intensive for me because of the FBA. Also, I was early with Hazel so maybe I will be late with the Macaron to even things out.

  4. Shari Vanderlinden Nardy says:

    What fun! You must get your problem from me!! I seem to have a problem with dishcloth patterns and Sugar ‘n Cream yarn. What color would you like for your kitchen, Skylar?

  5. Susie says:

    What a fun day of fabric shopping! As to your question – I usually have to be inspired by a fabric and then figure out what to make out of it. I feel as if I exist in a fabric desert here, but need to venture out of my “Bermuda Triangle” and hit some of the better stores in St. Louis. We are lucky to have Eunice Famer’s daughter here in town, in fact, she personally comes to service the sewing machines at my school!

  6. Susie says:

    Make that Eunice FaRmer’s daughter. She ran (and stil might) a sewing advice column in various newspapers for years.

  7. mrsdeboots says:

    Talk about best day ever lol!

  8. I think I’m a bit like you. Sometimes the fabric is first, sometimes the pattern. Only trouble is, if the fabric is first, I never seem to have all the fabric I need. Just have to go and buy more Yey!! Lovely choices and great bargains you found 😀

Leave a Reply

