Skylar Versus the Sergebeast of Infinite Doom, Round Two

I mentioned recently that I had finally managed to thread the Sergebeast, and even make a maxi skirt with it, but my stitches certainly didn’t look pretty.

Today I sat down with the sole purpose of learning to adjust the tension. That was two hours ago. I finally got to the point where the stitches looked pretty, and in my false confidence I decided to try the 3-thread stitch instead of the 4-thread I just figured out.

At some point, I learned that the presser foot does indeed come up with a lever similar to that on my regular machine. I never put it back down.

I proceeded to spend an hour yelling at the Sergebeast for being impossible and stupid for not executing what should have been an easier stitch. I rethread the machine, change the tension, played with dials that I had absolutely no idea the purpose of, but no dice. I decided to change thread and go back to four cones, but that wouldn’t work either! You’ve got to be kidding, that just worked for me an hour ago!

Then I sat there and stared the Sergebeast down, and the Sergebeast stared right back and winked. Stupid presser foot.

All is well now, as long as I stop touching it.. I wrote down the tension numbers that work, and I won’t be making any adjustments unless I need to serge something like cotton. For now I am using knits so I think I will stop poking the monster in the eye.

20120623-170413.jpg

Happy serging,
Skylar

About skylarchastain

I am a fifth grade math and science teacher. In my spare time I love to sew and create my own patterns. I'm trying to branch out into tutorials as well. I live in Texas with my husband Eric and our kitties.
This entry was posted in Sewing Tips and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Skylar Versus the Sergebeast of Infinite Doom, Round Two

  1. Corinne says:

    Doesn’t sound like a fun afternoon, but I like the humor you use when you write about it. Hope next time is less frustrating!

    • You and me both! It was at least a very educational afternoon, but I think some of my fifth grade students would have realized the presser foot was up long before I did!

  2. Brooke says:

    Sergers can be temperamental things! Once you learn the little quirks of yours, I’m sure you will have much less frustrating times when you sit down to do a project. =)

    I put a pencil mark on my tension dials after getting it just right – that way, if I ever change it or they rattle to a different position slightly, it’s easy to see that it’s off. Also, changing thread is easier if you knot the new color to your old thread at the cones and pull or run it through. (I do the loopers first and then the needle(s) because the knots won’t always go through the needle eye.)

    I’m sure you will show it who’s boss! lol – I love the name “Sergebeast”!

    • Thanks, I’m pretty sure it’s going to get a googly-eye and fangs makeover soon.

      • Brooke says:

        LOL – googly-eyes would be hilarious on a serger! They would bounce around for sure.

        I’ve often wanted to put a small bobble-head on mine (just because I know it would bounce when I serge), but the one I have isn’t quite small enough to stick on and still be able to thread the machine without removing it.

      • Hmmm, I wonder if there is a DIY bobble head tutorial somewhere on the Internet?

  3. sewbusylizzy says:

    My serger and I have a hate-hate relationship. So much so the motor burnt out yesterday. Perhaps our relationship wasn’t meant to be. I used to get so cranky with the stupid machine my husband learnt to thread it for me!!

  4. Lou's Labors says:

    HAHAHA! Before I read this, I thought I might start saving up to get a serger, now I am rethinking 🙂

Leave a Reply

