Fat Quarter Skirt Tutorial

This is a great stash buster project!

20120615-193051.jpg
For this skirt you will need:
Six fat quarters (I used two that are the same, and the other four are different)
Zipper (mine is 7 or 8 inches)
Basic skirt block (you can find tutorials on how to draft one, or if there’s enough interest this could be a future post)

Always prewash your fabric! Done? Good.

20120615-193451.jpg
Lay out your basic block on a sheet of butcher paper. I use a large roll of poster paper that I unroll to the length needed. Add seam allowances and decide how wide your A will be. Don’t let your bottom width exceed about 20 inches or your fat quarters will not be big enough.

20120615-193720.jpg
Be sure to transfer any darts needed. It my case, my back and front blocks were basically identical but if yours are different, you will need to cut a separate pattern piece for the back.

20120615-193856.jpg
At this point I made a muslin to check my work. Because I added a seam allowance at the center front fold, I just sewed it away for my muslin.

20120615-194032.jpg
Decide the order of your colors. I used two of the same color for the top section do it could be wider than the other layers.

Next involves a little math. Measure the length of your skirt pattern, then subtract the seam allowances. Mine were half inch, so I subtracted one inch total. This left me with a 21 inch length. Divide it among the six colors, but don’t forget to add in the seam allowances before cutting! Cut your fat quarters into four strips apiece in the correct widths. Make sure that one short side of each strip is squared up. Attach two strips together for the center front panel, but leave the back two separate for now. Sew your six strips together in your preferred order. Basically you’ve just made yourself new “fabric” to cut your pattern from!

20120615-194655.jpg
Here’s my front tacked up on Norma Jean so you can see it’s just a big rectangle at this point.

Next, cut out your pattern pieces! Don’t forget to subtract that pesky Sean allowance when you cut out the front. Sew back sides to front sides. Pin the back centers together and baste the length of where the zipper will go, then normal stitch the rest of the way down the back. Attach zipper. Hem top and bottom half inch, and you’re done!

20120615-195145.jpg
Poor Norma Jean, one day she’ll get to wear a shirt that matches her skirt.

If you need any clarifications, let me know.

Happy sewing,
Skylar

About skylarchastain

I am a fifth grade math and science teacher. In my spare time I love to sew and create my own patterns. I'm trying to branch out into tutorials as well. I live in Texas with my husband Eric and our kitties.
This entry was posted in Sewing Projects, Sewing Tutorials and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fat Quarter Skirt Tutorial

  1. TheTragicWhale says:

    Very nice!

Leave a Reply

