The Dreaded FBA

I’m trying to adjust my Colette Lily pattern, and I think I’m on information overload. I’ve been trying to find tutorials for a full bust adjustment (FBA), but I’ve tried two different versions with no success. Let’s just say I’m really glad I transferred the pattern to some thick brown paper before I started hacking away at it!

Here’s my cry for help: do you know of a tutorial for an FBA on princess seams that REALLY works? I think part of my problem is that I need to adjust the side-to-apex width as well. I’m going to give that a go and then reattempt the FBA.

Please let me know about those tutorials! Thanks, interweb friends!

Happy sewing,
Skylar

About skylarchastain

I am a fifth grade math and science teacher. In my spare time I love to sew and create my own patterns. I'm trying to branch out into tutorials as well. I live in Texas with my husband Eric and our kitties.
This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Dreaded FBA

  1. CherryPix says:

    Hi Skylar, Debbie Cook, from Stitches and Seams blog did this tutorial re princess line FBA. http://stitchesandseams.blogspot.com.au/2001/03/alterations-full-bust-alteration-for.html

    Hope this helps!

  2. dressesandme says:

    I need to learn to do this too, I await the answer with baited breath!

  3. CoursesAndWales says:

    One of the best purchases I made in regards to fitting patterns is the Palmer/Pletsch book Fit for Real People. It shows you step-by-step how to make just about any pattern correction — princess seams included.

  4. Almond Rock says:

    http://sewmamasew.com/blog2/2008/05/full-bust-alterations-or-adjustments-fba/

    I like lots of pictures to follow so maybe this will also help. Don’t want to contribute to info overload though 🙂

Leave a Reply

