CityCraft Voyage

I’ve been meaning to explore the fabric shop CityCraft in Dallas. However, I rarely have a reason to venture east instead of west to Fort Worth. Eric mentioned CityCraft to me and pointed out some fabrics he thought I would like on their website.

Wait a minute… Eric looking at fabric online? Maybe I’ve kissed my husband so many times he’s caught the fabric bug through osmosis. At any rate, who am I to argue when he suggests I take a look? Though I suspect he had an ulterior motive in that while I was gone, he and his friends took over the living room for Warhammer.

But I digress. CityCraft is located on Lover’s Lane a few blocks west of the Dallas North Tollway. It is a modestly sized storefront with big name designer fabric tucked away inside. I wish there had been a greater selection, but their space is limited. I drooled over Amy Butler, Joel Dewberry, Moda, and (finally in person!) a great selection of Echino.

Since I was already out and about, I then trekked to the other side of DFW to go to Cabbage Rose. I figured that since I just burned a hole in my pocket I may as well make sure the rest of my pants caught on fire too.

To top it off, when I got home my copy of The Colette Sewing Handbook arrived in the mail! Win!

20120519-151001.jpg

20120519-151008.jpg

20120519-151016.jpg

20120519-151028.jpg

20120519-151034.jpg
At CityCraft I picked up the left two fabrics and the Colette Lily pattern. The right two fabrics came from Cabbage Rose. I’ve also included the last pick showing the fabric I’ve chosen for the Lily, if I can figure out how to do a full bust adjustment.

If you have a fabric addiction like me, which store fuels it most? I would live to learn of some others (even if I’m not in your neck of the woods).

Happy sewing,
Skylar

About skylarchastain

I am a fifth grade math and science teacher. In my spare time I love to sew and create my own patterns. I'm trying to branch out into tutorials as well. I live in Texas with my husband Eric and our kitties.
This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to CityCraft Voyage

  1. Corinne says:

    In Phoenix, we have have the 35th Ave Sew & Vac, which just expanded to a bigger storefront (and they NEEDED it). Many of their customers are quilters, but I like to browse even for non-quilting needs. I haven’t checked them out since the move, but I think I’ll have to talk Mom into a trip soon. We also have SAS Fabric warehouse, which has discounted fabrics and notions. When I have a big project, I like to look there first since I might find what I need for cheap. 🙂

Leave a Reply

