Fabric Fortune Cookies for My Students

To reward my students’ stellar behavior, we give out raffle tickets and do prize drawings throughout the year. This week I wanted to add something handmade into the mix. Enter one of the easiest projects in my repertoire – fabric fortune cookies!

20120510-195332.jpg

20120510-195340.jpg

I wish I could remember where the original tutorial came from, but I’m sure a quick web search will yield results.

Naturally, as soon as I finished them one of the cats stole one to play with. I’m thinking that I could add catnip and sew them shut to make some fun cat toys.

Happy sewing,
Skylar

About skylarchastain

I am a fifth grade math and science teacher. In my spare time I love to sew and create my own patterns. I'm trying to branch out into tutorials as well. I live in Texas with my husband Eric and our kitties.
This entry was posted in Sewing Projects and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Fabric Fortune Cookies for My Students

  1. Kerri says:

    These are adorable and such a great idea! Did you design these yourself? I wish I had thought of them.

  2. These are adorable! I’m pinning them my Pinterest list of things to make. Thanks for the tip!

  3. Ria says:

    I love them! I’m going to have to search for a tutorial, because I want to make dozens of these now that I’ve seen yours! Thanks for the inspiration!

  4. I finally found the tutorial I used. Google “fabric fortune cookies” and scroll down until you find the one by Lady Havertine. Here is the direct link: http://www.ladyharvatine.com/2008/05/fabric-fortune-cookie-tutorial.html

    Have fun!

  5. Shari Vanderlinden Nardy says:

    How thoughtful of you, Skylar!

  6. Hugs & Kisses Clothing says:

    cute cute cute – one question – is there anything inside them? and do you have to break it to get inside? xXx

  7. I LOVE these! 🙂

Leave a Reply

