Sewing Room Remix

I was in a funk yesterday after the skirt debacle of the night before. This usually means cleaning my sewing room, but I decided to go ahead and move my desk and Expedit book cases. I also made sure the whole room (minus closet) was presentable enough for a full picture tour!

20120506-081704.jpg
The view from the door, complete with greeter Juneau.

20120506-081807.jpg
The wall of rulers, complete with Skirt of the Red Death (working title).

20120506-081900.jpg
The closet with its missing door. It used to have one but it almost killed my grandma when she tried to open it, so now I’m thinking cute curtain eventually. This is the perpetually-in-shambles part of the room.

20120506-082100.jpg
The top of my fabric storage drawers is now bits-and-bobs storage. My first edition of The Lovely Bones reminds me to chill out sometimes with a good book.

20120506-082249.jpg
My magnetic board lives in the closet now too. It fits my “clutter chic” motif.

20120506-082404.jpg
I am addicted to books about seeing and crafts. This is only part of the collection – the rest are loaned out to Lou and Jess.

20120506-082551.jpg
Ridiculously large manga collection from my teenage years (okay, maybe my college years, too).

20120506-082655.jpg
This is the cat corner by the window, with scratching posts and an empty box to distract them from eating my patterns. This does not always work.

20120506-082755.jpg
Guest bed. Sometimes I think about how nice it would be to put it in Eric’s office, but then I would have to trade him for the treadmill. At least I can flop down when I’m exasperated.

20120506-083003.jpg
This poster from the Antique Archaeology shop in Iowa makes me remember good times taking Eric to visit my “homeland” last summer. The shop is owned by the guys from the American Pickers show.

20120506-083214.jpg
I decided to work around the flowers that didn’t fall off the wall the way the branches did.

20120506-083309.jpg
Corner shot! The bookcase is now upright and the desk is attached in the manner intended.

20120506-083403.jpg
Juneau is still posing. She likes to keep the sewing machine company.

Happy sewing (and completely demolishing your room to change one little corner then trying to reorganize the shambles),
Skylar

About skylarchastain

I am a fifth grade math and science teacher. In my spare time I love to sew and create my own patterns. I'm trying to branch out into tutorials as well. I live in Texas with my husband Eric and our kitties.
This entry was posted in Sewing Room and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sewing Room Remix

  1. Shari Vanderlinden Nardy says:

    WOW. What a tour. Would love to see it in person!

  2. Wow! it looks fabulous. you did a great job. I agree, keep the bed 🙂 Avis x

  3. nicolenicol says:

    I am jealous of all your space and organisation..I am currently sewing on the dining table !,
    Very nice and colourful too.

  4. Evee says:

    I really enjoyed your sewing room pictures! I smirked when I saw your Manga collection, for my comic book collection will take a significant amount of space. I can’t wait until the day I can create my own sewing and craft studio.

  5. Corinne says:

    It looks great!

    Don’t worry about your messy closet–at least you have the rest of it so you can walk around. I can’t walk in mine. I’m very much hoping that downgrading our guest bed to a twin (it is now a full) is going to help me get the organizational space I need.

  6. It’s very pretty!

Leave a Reply

