Cabbage Rose, My New Guilty Pleasure

My work friend Nicolasa told me about a great fabric and quilt shop in Fort Worth called Cabbage Rose. I finally went today, and I am hooked! I took Jess with me and she says I’m a “fabric nerd” because I knew a lot of the designers and collections without looking at the ends of the bolts. There’s something special about being in the presence of all that fabric that online shopping just can’t match.

Here’s a look at today’s haul:

20120430-141338.jpg
Fabric from Lark by Amy Butler, Parisville by Tula Pink, and a collection I’m unfamiliar with by Riley Blake.

20120430-141448.jpg
The Riley Blake may become cosmetic bags. The Lark sateen is going to be a messenger bag for Jess, with these polka dots for the lining.

Cabbage Rose is hosting a “Fabric Fashion Show” on May 5th, so I think I will bring my messenger bag and maybe a few others. Jess has kindly agreed to be my runway model!

Happy sewing,
Skylar

About skylarchastain

I am a fifth grade math and science teacher. In my spare time I love to sew and create my own patterns. I'm trying to branch out into tutorials as well. I live in Texas with my husband Eric and our kitties.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cabbage Rose, My New Guilty Pleasure

  1. mlsafrancis says:

    I have to agree that shopping in person at a good quality fabric shop is so much more intoxicating than online shopping. It’s very dangerous for me (and my pocketbook!) There are tons of great online shops, but being able to feel the fabric and mix and match swaths right there adds a whole new dimension.

Leave a Reply

