I Shall Call Thee “Man Cube”

This is the last piece in a custom order I’ve been working on the past few days. The mission: take my existing make up bag pattern and turn it into a manly toiletry bag. It ended up more cube that rectangular prism (there’s the math teacher in me – go geometry!) but I like it. This one also has St. Anthony attached as a zipper pull because this is for an actor and St. Anthony is, among other things, the patron saint of actors.

20120416-205243.jpg

20120416-205253.jpg

20120416-205300.jpg

I tried to get a pic of the lining, but my lining didn’t cooperate. It is the same as the strap, a muted (hopefully masculine) geometric print. The main fabric is from an enormous stash of some sort of wool blend that i picked up at a thrift shop. It was my first time thrifting a fabric, and it doesn’t play well with others, so it has very heavy interfacing. This turned out to be a plus, because the Man Cube stands up on its own fairly well.

Now I am going to pretend to clean my sewing room. My husband likes a clean house and can’t understand how I can unright that room every day. I don’t mind cleaning it so much – sometimes I get inspired by something when I try to find it a home.

Happy sewing,
Skylar

About skylarchastain

I am a fifth grade math and science teacher. In my spare time I love to sew and create my own patterns. I'm trying to branch out into tutorials as well. I live in Texas with my husband Eric and our kitties.
This entry was posted in Sewing Projects and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

