Celiac Disease and Going Gluten Free

For those who don’t know me offline, I have a challenge in my household. In fall 2010, my husband was diagnosed with Celiac disease. He can’t have gluten anymore, because his body treats it as an enemy and his small intestine receives the collateral damage. This an oversimplification, but in essence, gluten equals ouchy belly and if untreated by cutting out gluten, can lead to serious complications. The good news is that after going gluten free, the body can start to repair itself.

As diagnoses of Celiac disease and non-Celiac gluten sensitivity become more frequent in our society, I’m going to start sharing some tips, recipes, and shortcuts that I’ve come upon in our quest to find palatable gluten free alternatives to some of Eric’s favorite foods. I’m especially going to share brands that he enjoys, but I am in no way affiliated with any companies I mention. I simply feel that we’ve done enough trial-and-error legwork that maybe others could benefit from it as well.

Even if you don’t have a gluten intolerance, some recipes and brands are truly yummy, and some just happen to lack gluten as a bonus for us.

Skylar

About skylarchastain

I am a fifth grade math and science teacher. In my spare time I love to sew and create my own patterns. I'm trying to branch out into tutorials as well. I live in Texas with my husband Eric and our kitties.
This entry was posted in Gluten Free Goodies and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Celiac Disease and Going Gluten Free

  1. Cara says:

    Woo hoo! I cannot wait to read about your gf preferences–I am ALWAYS on the hunt for more ideas 🙂 xo

Leave a Reply

