Fat Quarter Addiction

I have a problem with those neat little squares of fabric that live at JoAnn’s. I feel as though they need a home – my home, to be precise. Especially when they are 99 cents. I know this does nothing to help with my current stash, but I can already see possible uses. Here’s what I walked away with today:

20120415-215222.jpg

In other news, I made a few zipper pouches for Jess so she can keep some make up items in her purse. The first is because we LOVE our cats, and the second I made for her while she cut my husband’s hair tonight. It matches the newest purse I made her.

20120415-215510.jpg

20120415-215516.jpg

20120415-215524.jpg

20120415-215530.jpg

Do you have a fabric obsession? Please tell me I’m not alone!

Happy sewing (and hoarding),
Skylar

About skylarchastain

I am a fifth grade math and science teacher. In my spare time I love to sew and create my own patterns. I'm trying to branch out into tutorials as well. I live in Texas with my husband Eric and our kitties.
This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Fat Quarter Addiction

  1. Sew Smug says:

    Arrggh, you’re so lucky! Fabric seems to cost so much over here in the UK, no matter where I look. I swear that’s why nothing in my house is safe, leave it around for too long and it’s gone 😉

    Lovely little pouches by the way 🙂

  2. Victoria says:

    you are not alone. I have way more fabric than I will ever use… I think. I worked at JoAnn Fabrics for almost a year… It was the best and worst job I had… It was the best because I was surrounded by all the things I love and got a discount on them (oh and the people were nice too) and the worse because I just collected more and more… “Oh look that fabric is on sale… I think I’ll get that… oh and that one too… oops there goes my pay check.” I am Totally with you on the Fabric obsession… TOTALLY!

    • Sometimes I think about working at JoAnn’s during the summer months when I’m off work, then I remember that I need those months to decompress before the new school year. Plus I get a 15% discount through their teacher program anyway. That gets me into trouble enough as it is!

  3. I adore Fat Quarters! 🙂

    They’re great for small projects! Clutches, pouches, bias tape, braided headbands, etc.. The ones you bought are way cuter than the ones I’ve seen lately at our Joanns! I’ll have to check again..

    So cute! 🙂

  4. Fat quarters for a dollar! that’s less than a pound over here in the UK! Bargain!!! I wish the UK had Joanns. I’m jealous, so very very jealous.
    Claire

  5. sewgirl424 says:

    LOL! I used to live in Canton, TX and we had fabric stores all around us. I have 2 fat quarters, all they have where I live at is a Walmart. I am sooo newbie when it comes to sewing, but I will look out for the fat quarters, they would more than likely make my life much easier to sew with.

  6. Your Joann’s has so much cuter fat quarters than mine!! Jealous!

Leave a Reply

