A New Purse in the Works

I’ve decided to put my lovely Taza fat quarter collection to good use and create a bag pattern that maximizes the use of each fat quarter. Most of my patterns are a little too big, and I wanted to create my own pattern to avoid any potential copyright issues. Plus, there’s the pleasure of knowing that it’s absolutely mine, even down to the pattern.

I sketched an idea and drafted the pattern on brown wrapping paper that covered a custom frame job I ordered. I wanted it to besturdy enough to handle multiple uses without the tears (both uses of the homonym, here) of tissue paper.

20120409-201423.jpg
Here’s my little sketch.

20120409-201516.jpg
My pattern so far. I haven’t drafted the flap closure because I want to use a semicircle. Silly math teacher that I am, I don’t have a compass handy.

20120409-201702.jpg
These are the blue and periwinkle fat quarters from the collection that I will be working with first.

Happy sewing,
Skylar

About skylarchastain

I am a fifth grade math and science teacher. In my spare time I love to sew and create my own patterns. I'm trying to branch out into tutorials as well. I live in Texas with my husband Eric and our kitties.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

