Easy Baby Blanket Tutorial

This is one of the easiest things I’ve sewn in a while.

Two yards of flannel in coordinating prints, cut precisely, selvage removed
Coordinating thread and bobbin
Sewing norms – scissors, pins, etc.
Your machine
Iron
Pressing cloth if your iron hates you

Match up your fabrics right sides together. Pin. Sew with seam allowance of your choice – I used 1/2 inch. Be sure to leave a gap at the bottom. I used a stitch that is a combination straight stitch and zigzag to prevent fray. Press seams. Clip corners. Turn right side out through gap. Use a point turner for the corners, but be careful not to poke any holes (ask me how I know). Press. Top stitch (you can get fancy here with the decorative stitches) around the outside edge. Easy!

20120314-231124.jpg

I know I didn’t take a bunch of in-progress photos for this tutorial, but it’s fairly straightforward. Let me know if you have questions.

I made this one for my little sister’s teacher. Definitely a project I will repeat for future gifts. It seems like everyone’s having babies this year!

Happy sewing,
Skylar

About skylarchastain

I am a fifth grade math and science teacher. In my spare time I love to sew and create my own patterns. I'm trying to branch out into tutorials as well. I live in Texas with my husband Eric and our kitties.
This entry was posted in Sewing Tutorials and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Easy Baby Blanket Tutorial

  1. dressesandme says:

    This is such a great idea for a baby shower! Thanks for the tutorial 🙂

  2. Lou's Labors says:

    I love this blanket idea! Such a quick and easy way to make a baby gift. Plus, it will be completely unique!

  3. Thanks for the ideas…I love craft but am still waiting for the time to be able to “get busy”. I like to share craft ideas on my blog that would make great gifts. I would like to peek around more and maybe I can get permission to share in a post…I will check back with you!

Leave a Reply

