Crochet Hook Storage Roll Mock-up

My good friend Lou from over at Lou’s Labors has requested a crochet hook storage roll. We decided on a clutch type pattern, but I wanted to play around with the spacing of the dividers. She has some awesome hooks that have large grips, so I needed to accommodate for that. After making the mock-up for the dividers with some scrap fabric, I figured I may as well try to turn it into something useful.

20120314-212649.jpg
The top flap should fold over more, and after I attached the ribbon I realized that after rolling it up, the ribbon ties won’t work. Doh! Still, it’s not the pattern I will be using for the real thing. I think I will make another mock-up using the real pattern before I use the lovely fabric set aside for hers.

Happy sewing,
Skylar

About skylarchastain

I am a fifth grade math and science teacher. In my spare time I love to sew and create my own patterns. I'm trying to branch out into tutorials as well. I live in Texas with my husband Eric and our kitties.
This entry was posted in Sewing Projects and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Crochet Hook Storage Roll Mock-up

  1. Victoria says:

    you could still use a ribbon tie… Just stitch a length of ribbon to one edge of the roll-up right smack in the middle of the ribbon. then after you roll it up wrap the ribbon around the roll and tie. Or put both pieces of ribbon in the same spot on one side. Love this project thanks for the inspiration. I may make one for myself.

    • good idea, I really only made this one to work out the hook spacings for the clutch version. Sometimes when I just play around with my machine the results aren’t very functional.

Leave a Reply

