A Dip Into Scenic Painting

I have a Bachelor of Fine Arts in Theatre Performance. So far I haven’t used it much – I teach fifth grade math. My friend Chris is directing The Cover of Life at the Greater Lewisville Community Theatre, and he was in need of a scenic painter. Now, I only took one scenic painting course in college, but I’m game for a challenge. Here’s a few close-ups of my work (didn’t take a shot of the whole set – Doh!).

20120313-224310.jpg

20120313-224317.jpg
Faux wood finish for the walls.

20120313-224345.jpg
“Carpet” for the living room of the set.

20120313-224439.jpg
The linoleum for the dining area. We blocked off squares with painter’s tape that we will remove when it dries, to give a negative-space illusion of separate squares of linoleum.

This set has eaten two days of my Spring Break, so my sewing projects have been on hold. My next project is a friend’s request for a roll-up organizer for her crochet hooks.

Happy sewing (or painting, or whatever!),
Skylar

About skylarchastain

I am a fifth grade math and science teacher. In my spare time I love to sew and create my own patterns. I'm trying to branch out into tutorials as well. I live in Texas with my husband Eric and our kitties.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

