Sewing Goals

I’ve been meaning to set some manageable sewing goals for 2012. It took a while to gather my thoughts (also I accidentally deleted the first draft and cursed in fury) but here they are.

1. Sew something I can wear, like a skirt. It’s been quite a few years since I’ve done garment construction so I will probably stick with something basic, like a skirt.

2. Make a stuffed animal. I found a cute whale pattern on Etsy, so this may be quite soon.

3. Add items to my Etsy shop. I have some stock ready to go, but I haven’t yet taken the plunge.

4. I signed up for a Craftsy course on Upcycling, so I intend to make use of some old clothes that don’t fit (or were accidentally felted in the wash…)

5. Sew something daily. I’ve been working on this one for a few weeks, and sometimes it’s just picking fabrics for a project, or cutting, or sweeping up after a project, but I enjoy my daily retreat into my craft room.

Do you have any sewing goals? I would love to hear about them. Let’s inspire each other to sewing greatness!

Happy sewing,
Skylar

About skylarchastain

I am a fifth grade math and science teacher. In my spare time I love to sew and create my own patterns. I'm trying to branch out into tutorials as well. I live in Texas with my husband Eric and our kitties.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sewing Goals

  1. Salma says:

    Aah, I posted my resolutions a little while ago, and I think I’ve already fallen behind! One thing that I really want to do this year is sew from a vintage pattern, using only vintage sewing techniques. I have a ways to go before I feel confident enough doing it but hopefully this year will be different!

Leave a Reply

