Fabric vs. Washing Machine

I found some cute fabric the other day and decided I should wash it before I used it. That was a bad choice, although it’s better that I have a new purse than a potential customer getting a nasty surprise after washing!

I created the design on the fly – I figure that if I already knew it wouldn’t be sold, why not get creative? This is my first purse without a pattern, and it went so much more quickly that way.

20120219-215823.jpg

20120219-215834.jpg

20120219-215840.jpg
The kitten likes it! Rocky has to stake his claim on anything that touches the dining room table. You can faintly see the gray marks on the white sections of the scallops where the black dye bled. Oh well, new spring purse for me. I think next time I will make one a little shorter.

Happy sewing,
Skylar

About skylarchastain

I am a fifth grade math and science teacher. In my spare time I love to sew and create my own patterns. I'm trying to branch out into tutorials as well. I live in Texas with my husband Eric and our kitties.
This entry was posted in Sewing Projects and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fabric vs. Washing Machine

  1. Sorry to hear that your fabric bled—but way to make the most of it! The purse is so cute!

Leave a Reply

